Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

McMillan Nursery School

Today's children are tomorrow's future

Learning in the EYFS 



The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum


The Early Years Foundation Stage is a National Curriculum that all children

follow from birth up to 5 years old.


There are 7 areas of learning:


Personal, Social and Emotional Development - Making relationships, Self-confidence and self-awareness, Managing feelings and behaviour.

Communication and Language - Listening and attention, Speaking, Understanding  - Listening and attention, Understanding, Speaking.

Physical Development - Moving and handling, Health and Self-care

SPECIFIC AREASd Handling, Health and self-care.

Literacy - Reading, Writing.

Mathematics - Numbers, Shape space and measure.

Understanding the World - People and communities, The World, Technology.

Expressive arts and design - Exploring and using media and materials, Being imaginative.

Development Matters Document