Railway Street, Nelson, Lancashire, BB9 9AG

Tel: 01282 612709

Email: bursar@mcmillan.lancs.sch.uk

Headteacher: Simone O'Connor.

McMillan Nursery School

Home >>
  1. Staff & Governors

Staff & Governors



McMillan Nursery School Staff 






Simone O'Connor       BA Hons Cert Ed          


                                     Early Years Prof. Status 


Designated teacher for looked after children









Sara Pickup                  BA Hons  PGCE




Samatha Walker         BA Hons  



Higher Level Teaching Assistant

Higher  Level Teaching Assistant

Higher Level Teaching Assistant

Sharon Pursglove

Debbie Clancy             

Amanda Meade       

Teaching Assistant Level 2

Sadia Mahmood           BA Hons 


Speech & Language Co-ordinator


Janet Taylor

School Bursar




Michelle Barnsley        NCEA     

                                          Data  Protection Officer

                                          Emergency First Aider

Email: bursar@mcmillan.lancs.sch.uk                   

Site Supervisor

Elaine Starkie

Early Years Practitioner



Sumera Sajid

Nusrat Ashraf



 All staff are trained in Safeguarding and Child Protection Level 3

In-line with Working Together to Safeguard Children (2015), EYFS (2017) and the Pan-Lancashire Safeguarding Children Procedures.

 Qualified Paediatric First Aiders

Simone O'Connor Sumera Sajid Sara Pickup
Amanda Meade Michelle Barnsley Debbie Clancy
Sharon Pursglove Janet Taylor Sadia Mahmood
Nusrat Ashraf Samantha Walker  




McMillan Nursery School Governing Body 

The school has a Governing Body made up of ten stake holders including parents, staff, community and Local Authority representatives.  The Governing Body has a legal responsibility for the Nursery School.  The Governors work with the Headteacher to set the vision and strategic aims and to monitor and evaluate performance. The Governors are actively involved in the  school and regularly attend to observe/ support visits and share in our celebrations such as Concerts, Eid, Christmas etc.  They are keen to hear your views and opinions of the school.  Please feel free to approach them either in person when they are in school or by email to bursar@mcmillan.lancs.sch.uk

The Parent Governors are parents of the children attending the school at the time of appointment.  They are chosen by the majority of votes made by parents.  All parents of children in School are eligible as parent Governors.  There are three Governors meetings annually, one each School term, which are held in School.  There are also additional committee meetings each term.

Staff Governors are elected by staff, Local Authority representative are elected by Lancashire County Council and Co-opted Governors are elected by the Governing Body based on their skills and attributes relevant to the School.

If you are interested about finding out more about the Governing Body, please speak to the Headteacher or a member of staff.


Governor's report to parents 2017-2018


Category of Governor Name Date appointed End date


Mrs Shelia Wicks



Co-opted Governor

Ms Carol Hopkins

Mrs Misba Tabassum




01.11.18 (resigned)

Parent Governors

Ms Saria Khan

Mr Umar Arif

Mr Imran Khan




13.06.17 (resigned)



Staff Governors

Mrs Debbie Clancy

Mrs Sara Pickup






Simone O'Connor




Meetings Attended        x=attended      Obs=observing    Apol=apologies received

NAME 04.10.16 04.10.16 8.11.16 31.01.17 31.01.17 21.02.17 16.05.17 16.05.17 13.06.17
   Curr  Res  F.G.B  Curr  Res  F.G.B  Curr  Res  F.G.B
 S Wicks x x x x  x X x x x
D Clancy  X  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x
C Hopkins  x  x   x  x  x  x  x  x  x
 S Khan  x  Apol Apol Apol Apol  Apol  Apol  Apol
 S Pickup  X  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x
 M Arif  x  x  x   x Apol  Apol  x
S O'Connor  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x
 I Khan            Obs Apol   Apol
 M Tabassum                 Obs 


Meetings Attended        x=attended      Obs=observing    Apol=apologies received

NAME 03.10.17 03.10.17 14.11.17 23.01.18 23.01.18 06.03.18 01.05.18 01.05.18 26.06.18
   Curr  Res  F.G.B  Curr  Res  F.G.B  Curr  Res  F.G.B
 S Wicks x x x  x  x X   x x
D Clancy x x x  x  x  X x  x x
C Hopkins  x x  x  x  x  x  x  x
 S Khan x x x          
 S Pickup x x x  x  x  x  x
 U Arif x x x  x  x  X  Apol  Apol Apol 
 S O'Connor x  x x  x  x  x  x  x  x
 I Khan  x  x  Apol            
 M Tabasum  x  x Apol   Apol Apol  x  x Apol 

Meetings Attended        x=attended      Obs=observing    Apol=apologies received

NAME 09.10.18 09.10.18 13.11.18 22.01.19 22.01.19 05.03.19 30.04.19 30.04.19 25.06.19
   Curr  Res  F.G.B  Curr  Res  F.G.B  Curr  Res  F.G.B
 S Wicks x x x            
D Clancy x x x            
C Hopkins  x x  x            
 S Pickup x x x          
 U Arif x x x            
 I Khan                  
 S O'Connor x  x x            




Register of Interests

None of the Governor's have any financial interests that could be detrimental to the Nursery School

Governor Name Name of Business Nature of Business Nature of Interest Date Appointed Date of Cessation
Ms Carol Hopkins Bradley Nursery School Nursery Care  &  Education Governor 10.11.15   
Mrs Sheila Wicks

Lomeshaye  Junior School

Education Governor          2001  



 Committee Structure

Admissions Committee Appointed Gov's and Pay Committee
Mrs Sheils Wicks (Chair) Mrs Sheila Wicks (Chair)
Simone O'Connor Ms Carol Hopkins
Complaints/ Appeals Committee Curriculum Committee
Any three untainted Governors Mrs Sheila Wicks (Chair)
  Mr Imran Khan
  Simone O'Connor
  Mr Umar Arif
  Mrs Sara Pickup
  Mrs Debbie Clancy
  Ms Carol Hopkins
Nominated Governors Resources Committee
Mrs Sheila Wicks - LASGB Mrs Sheila Wicks (Vice Chair)
                               - Safeguarding  Mr Imran Khan
                               - E-Safety Simone O'Connor
                               - Personal & Social Mr Umar Arif (Chair)
Carol Hopkins      - Health & Safety Sara Pickup
                                - SEND Mrs Debbie Clancy
                                - Physical  Ms Carol Hopkins
Umar Arif               - Link                           
                                - Communication & Lang.
Review Officer Staff Discipiline, Dismissal, Attendance & 
Mrs Sheila Wicks                      Review Committee
Mrs Sheila Wicks (Chair)
  Any untained non-staff Governor
Staff Grievance/ Pay Appeals Committee  PREVENT Governor
Any untainted none Staff Governors  Mrs Sheila Wicks